Meet the new staff at Silver Lake Regional High School

Special Education

I’ve always liked working with children; I have eight of my own. I graduated from Northeastern University as a Criminal Justice major. I started law school and realized that being a lawyer in the juvenile justice system would not necessarily allow me to make positive changes in the lives of kids. I started out as a substitute teacher for a few years and then I worked at Silver Lake Middle school for four years as a Para Professional. While there I realized that I wanted to do more, I wanted to teach! This is where I felt I could make a difference! I started in on taking courses and teacher exams. Once I was licensed, I took a position at Middleboro High School for two years, gaining knowledge and experience. When an opening became available at Silver Lake High School I put in my application and started calling and e-mailing Mr. Kelley. I finally got my chance to come back “home” to the Lake! I am so happy to be here!

Special Education

My name is Michelle Boudreau and I was an ice cream truck driver many years ago. Now I am one of the new special education teachers at SL. Ironically, I actually studied to become a preschool teacher at the University of Connecticut. Upon graduation, I took a job as a paraprofessional at a high school in Connecticut with the intentions of transitioning to the elementary school the following year. However, I realized that year that I enjoyed working with the older students much more. Thus, I picked up and moved to Boston to attend graduate school. While I studied at Simmons College, I taught at a special education school in Brookline, MA. After earning my Masters in Education, I began my career in public education. Silver Lake High School is the third high school district I have worked in and by far the best. Silver Lake was appealing to me because of its high expectations for students and staff, strong community support, and resources available to students. It has been a fantastic start to the school year and I anticipate the rest of the year will be just as wonderful.

Carpentry

I spent the last two years at YouthBuild Lowell as a Vocational Construction Trainer. Twenty years of Carpentry experience prior.Teaching gives me the opportunity to pay it forward, by helping to prepare the carpenters of the future.My walk down the hallway sealed the deal for me.I noticed three things that made an appealing impression on me.My first impressionable experience was when I passed by three different students, not all walking together, and all three of the students made eye contact and said, “Hello”. (They must have thought I was someone important).Then I noticed the students in the classrooms, they were all doing their work.My third impression of Silver Lake that appealed to me was how clean the school was.

School Psychologist

1.) As an undergraduate, I spent my freshman and sophomore year at the University of New Hampshire. I started off in the pre-med program because I wanted to be a psychiatrist, but after spending time in the Anatomy Lab, I decided that maybe I didn’t need to prescribe medicine that badly and stuck with majoring in psychology. For my junior and senior year I transferred to Stonehill College, but lived off campus and commuted from home. During the summer between college graduation and my entrance into graduate school, I worked at Chauncy Hall Academy, a secure and intensive residential treatment program for adolescents aged 13-18 who are referred by the Department of Mental Health. I then went on to study school psychology at Northeastern University in their MS/CAGS program where I received my graduate degree. Though I completed two years of a practicum and internship while finishing my graduate work, this is my first official year as a license school psychologist.2.) I became a school psychologist for very personal reasons. While in my first years of elementary school I watched my younger brother struggle with reading difficulties and suffer from school phobia. First and second grade were very challenging for him, especially because we moved to a new town during that time. He often cried on the bus on the way to school, which in turn upset me as his older sister. My brother was eventually identified as having a reading disability and serviced through an IEP which helped him overcome his reading delays and feel more comfortable in school. I entered this field because I wanted to help students like my brother, who suffer from various disabilities (learning, emotional, etc.), and demonstrate that everyone can be successful in school with the right supports.3.) Many things appealed to me about Silver Lake, but what stood out the most was the number of faculty members who got their first job here and never left. It speaks volumes about a district and tells me that Silver Lake is one that truly values not only the development of its students, but also that of its faculty.Interesting fact: I had never been on a plane until my sophomore year of college and since then I’ve only flown to Maryland and Chicago. My dream is to go to Italy and Ireland at some point

Assistant Principal

Michaela S. Gill graduated from Wheaton College with a Bachelor of Arts in 2004. She began her teaching career at Norton High School in Norton, MA before teaching at Braintree High School in Braintree, MA. In 2006 she relocated to Florida and taught history at Seabreeze High School in Daytona Beach. While in Florida she attended Stetson University and earned her Master of Education in Educational leadership and completed an administrative internship at Seabreeze High School. In 2008 Michaela and her husband moved back home to Massachusetts. She has been teaching at SLRHS since 2008 and takes great pride in being a Laker. Two years ago she developed Project Silver, a mentoring program designed to assist at-risk freshmen with their transition into high school. The program is currently expanding and will soon be school-wide. Additionally, this past school year she had the opportunity to work alongside Mr. Kelley and Mr. Mulcahy assisting them as needed in administration. Throughout all her years in education Michaela Gill has been active in coaching and sponsoring student clubs such as the Deployment Buddies and Youth in Action.

Mathematics

I graduated from Silver Lake Regional High School in 2006. After graduation, I earned my Bachelor of Science in Education degree from Bridgewater State University. I went into teaching because I love giving people the skills they need to live a successful, fulfilling life. Math in particular is a very important tool for students to succeed in college, in the workplace, and in our society. Taking a job at Silver Lake Regional High School appealed to me because I was so happy with and proud of the education I received here as I student . I particularly was so grateful my past teachers in the mathematics department for preparing me so well for a major in math in college. As a former student, I can speak so highly of the staff and administration for creating such a wonderful learning environment. There is no other school I would rather be a part .Outside of the classroom, I am a Zumba instructor. Zumba is an aerobic dance workout inspired by Latin rhythms. I teach Greek on Saturdays to Greek-American children. My first graders are learning to speak, read, and write in Greek at the same time they are learning to read and write in English!

Science

Matt Mello has transferred from teaching physics at Bristol-Plymouth Regional Technical School and has diverse background including electrical engineering, professional performance, entertainment management, early childhood music education and night club management. He prefers to think that teaching chose him, and that being a high school teacher is a fantastic combination of the skills he has developed over the years. He could not be prouder to be teaching in his home town and is thankful for the opportunity to contribute to making his community better through excellent science instruction. A fun fact to know is that Matt’s first venture after college was programming computer strategic simulations. It did not last more than a year – the call to be on stage won out and Matt has over 3,000 professional appearances to date!

Social Studies

I attended Mount Holyoke College where I majored in History and minored in Education. I then earned my juris doctorate from New England School of Law.I really enjoy working with high school students. I hope that my love of history will inspire students to explore how much we can learn from the past and how it shapes our lives today.
I have been impressed by the enthusiasm and spirit of the SLRHS community since my first day on the job. I am delighted to be joining such a welcoming community!
Tidbit/Interesting:My favorite “historical” experience was studying Irish History at Trinity College Dublin during my junior year of college.

Mathematics

I graduated from Bartlett High School in Webster, MA. I earned a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics with a Minor in Secondary Education at Bridgewater State University. While at Bridgewater State University, I tutored mathematics in the Mathematics Services walk-in tutoring center. I guided a targeted class first semester Pre-Calculus students as a Mathematics Coach at the University. I completed my student teaching at Silver Lake Regional High School.I became a teacher because I wanted to help students in the same way that my high school teachers helped me. My teachers gave me a passion for learning and taught me that any dream was reachable. I hope to inspire my students in the same way and show them the beauty of mathematics.Silver Lake Regional High School was appealing to me in the way that each teacher was continually trying to better their teaching in order to teach every student in the best way possible. The amount of support from all of the faculty as well as high standard of learning drew me to the school.I was raised in Webster, MA which has Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg in its center!

School Nurse

I have been a nurse for 20 years, graduated from Brockton Hospital School of Nursing. I have worked as a visiting nurse for the last 15 years. I am married and live in Kingston and have twin daughters Brooke and Kristen who are sophomores here at Silver Lake. I have been the substitute nurse for all of the schools in Kingston for the last six years.

English

I am thrilled to be back at Silver Lake after a brief stint as the long-term sub for Mrs. Cahill a little over two years ago. I received my BA in English and Communications from Stonehill College and am currently pursuing my MAT at Bridgewater State University. I spent last year teaching at my alma mater, Hanover High School. Here at the Lake I have the distinct pleasure of teaching juniors, seniors and the Journalism elective, as well as advising the Laker Legend.I became an English teacher because I have a passion for writing and literature and hope to inspire the same in my students. My favorite part of this job is getting to interact with the kids and my colleagues, and the fact that no two days are ever the same!What appealed to me about Silver Lake was the overwhelming sense of community and pride. Students, parents and faculty members have all been so welcoming and supportive during my first few weeks, and I am so impressed by the high standards that we set and exceed as a school.I was fortunate enough to get to travel to Europe over the summer, and my favorite memory from my trip would have to be getting to watch a performance of As You Like It at the Globe Theatre – an English teacher’s dream come true!

Art

I received a Bachelor of Science degree from Towson University, Baltimore, MD. I majored in Art with a concentration in Sculpture. By my senior year it was clear to me that I carried two passions: the visual arts and education. I continued to pursue these interests by attending Massachusetts College of Art and Design, Boston, where I received a Master of Fine Arts degree. I have since taught high school, college and post-college classes within the Visual Arts. I believe my interest in teaching was fueled early on by the pure excitement of learning. I enjoyed creative problem solving, mastering a skill and the personal sense of empowerment gained from overcoming obstacles. I was also inspired by my dedicated teachers who influenced me to utilize different learning methods that matched my individual needs. My passion for the visual arts came out of my experiences as a child growing up overseas. My Father worked for the United States Agency for International Development and as a family, we were stationed primarily in Africa moving to a new country every couple of years including Kenya (where I was born), Uganda, Niger, Botswana and Swaziland. My Mother, a painter, encouraged my sister and I to use the visual arts as a bridge; connecting us to all the diverse cultures and communities we lived within. It became a universal language with which I could relate and interact with others.I feel so fortunate to be able to pursue both my love for the visual arts as well as teaching at Silver Lake Regional High School. The dedication of the teachers and staff is matched by the energy and determination of our students. This is wonderful community to be part of and I am very thankful for this opportunity!
2 Responses to “Meet the new staff at Silver Lake Regional High School”

  1. crystal mello Says:

    i really miss you ms.boudreau. i hope to see you soon.

  2. crystal mello Says:

    it sounds really fun there. i wish i was there.

Leave a Reply

