Rich Kelley at the mic and on the train

The Columbus Day weekend was quite exciting for me. Not only did I get to ride on Thomas the Tank Engine at Edaville with my wife and granddaughter; but I was also an in studio guest on the Jordan Rich Show that aired from Midnight to 3:30 AM during the wee hours of Sunday morning on radio WBZ 1030!

Edaville was a blast as we rode the train, went on some rides, went fishing in the pond, and of course had a cone of cranberry ice cream. The day, including the weather, could not have been better! We came home with the requisite Thomas T-shirt and family photo taken with Thomas and Sir Topham Hat.

The day for me actually started at about 11:00 PM  on Saturday night as I arrived at the WBZ studios on Soldier’s Field Road in Boston, MA. I first met Jordan Rich when he interviewed me last year for the Principal of the Year award. As a loyal listener, and as soon as I met Jordan, I could easily discern that education is a priority for him. When I arrived at the studio, I was warmly greeted by radio host extraordinaire, Jordan Rich. Jordan kindly gave me a quick tour of the station. I was able to see the 11:00 o’clock news being broadcast and was introduced to meteorologist Barry Burbank. I even got to see where Rex Trailer’s Boomtown was filmed …if I have to explain … then you’re much too young! We spent the next three and a half hours taking calls about TV shows, both current and classic. My goldmine of useless knowledge about classic television finally was put to good use. Jordan had two other guests in studio, humorist Chuck Goldstone, and Kingston resident, middle school custodian, and special effects aficionado, Gary King. Jordan, Gary, and Chuck were a pleasure to work with, even at 2:00AM! I was impressed by their knowledge and; with Jordan’s interviewing skills was given the chance to brag a bit about Silver Lake Regional High School. I am hopeful that Jordan will invite me back for another appearance on his show. I’ve included a couple of pictures taken while we were on the air.

That’s me with Jordan Rich, Gary King, and Chuck Goldstone on the Jordan Rich Show WBZ 1030

At the microphone

Leave a Reply

